The One Writing Rule I Never Break

When there are sentences trying to come out, let them.

Rosie Spinks
3 min readJul 6, 2021

Here’s something that happens to me often: I’ll be standing around, doing some mundane or important task. Suddenly, a sentence will knock on the door, suitcase in hand, asking to be let in.

The knock on the door sounds different than a passing thought or idea. It’s fully-baked, with a life of its own, already fit for public consumption. It is a string of words that will, if written down, very often lead to more words

And so when that moment comes, there is one rule I always obey: I stop what I am doing, and write that damn sentence down.

That may sounds obvious: If you’re a writer, write things down! But I can assure you that true fidelity to this rule will result in some chaotic scenes. Frantically jotting something down while the phone is ringing because you know if you answer the call first, the sentence will be gone forever. Texting myself while I’m running to an appointment I’m already late for, or in the middle of a conversation with someone I’m also trying to listen to. Writing on the proverbial airplane drink napkin when my phone is dead and my laptop and notebook are in the overhead compartment. Somehow, these sentences always manage to arrive when one of the many notebooks I own is not easily accessible. In a…

--

--

Rosie Spinks

Writing about how to create a meaningful life in a chaotic world. Formerly a lifestyle and business reporter. Find me: rojospinks.com @rojospinks.